Our national Tree of the Year contest celebrates special trees across the United Kingdom, and the stories behind them.

The winners of Tree of the Year 2019 are:

England – The Allerton Oak, Liverpool

Northern Ireland – The Invisible Tree, Rostrevor

Scotland – The Last Ent of Affric, Glen Affric

Wales – The Old Sweet Chestnut of Pontypool, Pontypool Park.

A panel of experts has also selected England’s Allerton Oak to go forward to represent the UK in the European Tree of the Year competition in February 2020.

Click on the links below to view the shortlisted trees and read the stories behind their nominations.

This year's winners

A bit of 'Tree LC'

The winning tree in each country will be eligible for a Tree Care award of £1,000, whilst selected runners-up will be awarded £500, subject to eligibility. The award can be used to arrange a health check from an arboriculturalist, provide interpretation or educational materials or simply just hold a community celebratory event in honour of the tree.

You can read the terms and conditions of the competition, the prize draw, and the Tree Care awards on our terms and conditions page.

The Tree Charter

The Tree of the Year competition is run in support of the Charter for Trees, Woods and People – an initiative that sets out 10 tree principles to embed in our society for a future where people and trees are stronger together. Find out more and voice your support at treecharter.uk