Tree of the Year 2017

Veteran beech tree in Ballathie North Wood, Perthshire (Photo: WTML/J Howden)

From elegant cherry trees to towering elms, do you have a tree with an interesting story that is special to you, your friends and family or your community? Tree of the Year returns for the fourth year and we're once again calling for your most beautiful, interesting and quirky special trees.


Nominate your Tree of the Year

Nominations are now closed. Our judging panel is currently looking through all of your entries to create a shortlist for each nation (Scotland, England, Wales and Northern Ireland), that will go forward to the public vote in September. Once we have our country winners we will be selecting just one tree from this public vote to represent the UK in Europe.

A bit of ‘Tree LC’

This year, thanks to support from players of People’s Postcode Lottery, we are offering up to £1000 in tree care awards to the most successful trees. Together, we will help them live longer and thrive.

Tree Care Awards are designed to help your tree live a prosperous and healthy life. They can be used for arboricultural surveys or other maintenance, interpretation or even to support a community event in celebration of the tree. Please read our Terms and Conditions for more details.

Please come back in September to cast your vote.

British trees

Photograph of willow catkins.

Your A-Z guide of trees found throughout the UK.

Explore trees