History of Tring park
Save all your favourite Woodland Trust content in one place.Find out more about Scrapbook
Tring Park has a rich cultural history. A site named as Treunge was recorded within the Normans' Domesday Book of 1086.
The Rothschilds and royal connections
It is believed that William the Conqueror granted the Manor of Tring to Count Eustace II of Boulogne, who had been fully involved in the fray at Hastings. As such, Count Eustace is the first known owner of Tring Park.
Up to the 15th Century
The grassland at Tring Park is not flat. It is a landscape of hillocks and little valleys before the land rises up the Chiltern Hills, called the scarp slope. The underlying rocks are part of the chalk formations of the Upper Cretaceous age.
16th to 18th centuries
The manor was annexed by the Crown in the reign of Henry VIII, and was granted in 1546 to Sir Edward North who, together with his wife Alice, sold it in the same year to Sir Richard Lee. Sir Richard, after holding it for about a year, exchanged it with the Crown for lands in St. Albans, having leased it for a term of years to Thomas Skipwith.
After Sir Drummond Smith died without an heir, the estate was sold by his trustees in 1823 to William Kay, an entrepreneur who set up the silk mill in Tring. On his death in 1838 the estate came under his will to his son William for life.
Information supplied by Shelley Savage. To find out more, pick up Shelley's book at the Natural History Museum at Tring or the local history museum for a small cost. A donation from all book sales is given back to Tring Park.