Get in touch

Two men speaking

We offer free advice, guidance and support to woodland owners, managers and forestry professionals. Our restoration projects are hosted with local partner organisations in the forestry and rural developments sectors across the UK.

If you own an area of plantation on an ancient woodland site, we can help you discover its history and provide free and impartial advice - from how restoration can complement your ongoing woodland management and objectives, to signposting potential sources of grant funding, restoration training and networking events.

Our project areas

There are currently 20 areas of the UK where we have restoration professionals on the ground to advise woodland owners onsite, and host a range of events each year to offer training.

We endeavour to support as many people as possible, but we don’t currently have UK wide coverage through our partnership projects, although we are always looking to set up new areas where possible.

Map showing our ancient woodland restoration priority areas.

Map showing our ancient woodland restoration projects areas.

To find out more, please get in touch with our restoration team restoration@woodlandtrust.org.uk

Or find your local contact using the details below:

England
Scotland
Wales
Northern Ireland

England

North and East Yorkshire
Ben Scotting or Will Richardson
01765 609355
ben.scotting@yorwoods.org.uk

South and West Yorkshire
Robin Ridley
07768 498407
robinridley@woodlandtrust.org.uk

North York Moors National Park
Mark Antcliff
01439 772700
m.antcliff@northyorkmoors.org.uk

Peak District National Park
Ben Lambert
01629 816395
Ben.Lambert@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Cumbria
Neville Elstone
01539 822140
neville@cumbriawoodlands.co.uk

Northumberland and Durham
Ian Everard
ian.everard@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

National Forest
Charles Robinson
01283 551211
cerobinson@nationalforest.org

Wyre Forest
Tim Selman
01299 488083
tim@wyreclt.org.uk

The Weald
Jim Smith-Wright
07768 506 664
jimsmith-wright@woodlandtrust.org.uk

West Weald Landscape Project
Petra Billings
01273 497515
petrabillings@sessexwt.org.uk

Chilterns
Lockhart Garratt
01536 408840 / 01608 648657
info@lgluk.com

Hertfordshire
Maydencroft
01462 420851
info@maydencroft.co.uk

Herefordshire and West Worcs.
Jeremy Evans
08452 935751
jeremyevans@woodlandtrust.org.uk

Scotland

Cairngorms & Hinterland
Alan Crawford
07740 449940
alan.crawford@ruraldevelopment.org.uk

Great Glen & Three Firths
Alasdair Firth
07920 102712
alasdair.firth@ruraldevelopment.org.uk

Wales

Clwyd
Nigel Douglas
08437 705604
nigeldouglas@woodlandtrust.org.uk

Powys
Vaughan Lewis
07768 505124
vaughanlewis@woodlandtrust.org.uk

Western Mid Wales
Alastair Hotchkiss
08452 935543
alastairhotchkiss@woodlandtrust.org.uk

Adam Thorogood
07733 012452
adamthorogood@woodlandtrust.org.uk

Swansea & Neath Port Talbot
Elen Richards
07791 638201
e.richards1@npt.gov.uk

South Pembrokeshire & West Carmarthenshire
Mat Ridley
01558 825308
Mridley@carmarthenshire.gov.uk

Gus Helier
07899 926917
GHellier@carmarthenshire.gov.uk

Monmouthshire
01600 740600
info@gwentwildlife.org

Northern Ireland

Michael Topping
08452 935439
michaeltopping@woodlandtrust.org.uk

 

Hlf Banner

More advice and support

Be inspired by our speakers

People walking in misty woodland.

Our volunteer speakers can give your group a fascinating insight into ancient woodland restoration.

Arrange a talk

Want some training?

Restoration event

Bring restoration to life and join us on one of our free restoration and management workshops.

See our events